Venetian Olive Tree Bridge

* NOTE: All the tributes of All About Limassol (as the Official Guide of Limassol) aim to ONLY highlight the special advantages of this wonderful city, so that everyone can be aware of the unique Experiences it offers. Under no circumstances do they have any promotional or nominal value, nor do they serve the interests of Companies, Municipalities, Organizations or Individuals.

Transportation (Bridges, Roads, Ships, Cars)

This is one of the bridges that crosses the river Finiotis, a tributary of the Diarizos River, which is named after the village of Fini.

The ‘Olive Tree Bridge,’ like others in the surrounding area, is estimated to have been built in the 16th century. Its name appears to stem from the olive tree that was rooted next to it, which is quite unusual given the altitude of the area and its relatively cold climate.

The stone-built, pinnacled bridge has a rather narrow passageway, as it was only ever traversed by animals or people on foot. It was used frequently by those heading towards Paphos, up until the mid-20th century, as it wasn’t until 1958 that the newer bridge was built to serve the needs of those passing through.

The medieval ‘Olive Tree Bridge’ is quite similar to the ‘Tzielefos Bridge,’ which is located further south and today falls within the administrative boundaries of Paphos.

* NOTE: The tributes of the Project "History of Limassol" present information that has emerged from historical research thus far. Any new data is embedded into the tributes, once it has been confirmed.