3710

Vasa Koilaniou Village

19/09/2022
* NOTE: All the tributes of All About Limassol (as the Official Guide of Limassol) aim to ONLY highlight the special aspects of this wonderful city, so that everyone can be aware of the unique Experiences it offers. Under no circumstances do they have any promotional or nominal value, nor do they serve the interests of Companies, Municipalities, Organizations or Individuals.

Surrounded by vineyards, Vasa Koilianiou is one of the most important wine villages of the Limassol mountain region, with a long history in the production of wine and grape products.

swipe gallery

The name of the village is of Ancient Greek origin, from the word ‘Vassa’ or ‘Vissa,’ which means wooded valley. The village was home to a sanctuary of Apollo, where the central church is built today. Vasa was an important fief during medieval times, belonging to crusading barons, as evidenced by the sword collections which were discovered on a hill behind the church in 1993. 

swipe gallery

Square

The imposing presence of the Evangelismos Church in the center of the village led to the creation of a beautiful, paved square surrounded by coffee shops. This, combined with the narrow streets and stone-built houses, many of which have been renovated, contribute to the image of a picturesque village that is rich in traditions.

swipe gallery

During the time that the village population was thriving, this area was considered to be a commercial center, with grocery shops, barbershops,workshops, as well as butchers selling fresh, local meat. In fact, Vasa was known for its ‘tsamarela’ (cured goat meat), which is considered to be the ideal appetizer to enjoy with a shot of zivania.

Architecture

In Vasa, the charming traditional architecture is preserved even today, featuring carved limestone as the main building material. Houses with thick walls, large fenced yards and arches are a testament to the village's wealth.

swipe gallery

Vasa was also home to a number of skilled stonemasons. In addition to those involved in the building of houses, there were also craftsmen who built dry-stone walls on the slopes where the vineyards grew.

Churches

The Church of the Annunciation of the Virgin: It was built during 1896-1900 in the Gothic style, featuring a chiseled stone dome.

swipe gallery

Cave and Chapel of Osios Varnavas: Just outside the village is the cave of Osios Varnavas, where he lived as an eremite and his remains were discovered. His chapel is also located next to this cave.

Saint Timonas Cave: At the same rocky area, the cave where Saint Timon lived as an ascetic is also located.

swipe gallery

Chapel of Saint George: A 14th century chapel located at the entrance of the village, built in the cruciform, Byzantine style. The interior houses 15th century frescoes in excellent condition. According to tradition, the church acted as the monastery for Little Laura.

Chapel of Timios Prodromos: A small chapel located among the houses of the village, with a stone-built exterior and a beautiful, wood-carved iconostasis within.

swipe gallery

Museums

Museum of Primary Education: Since 2010, the old all-boys school of Vasa the Museum of Primary Education has been operating, presenting the history of the school as well as the community itself, using digital media and interactive tools.

swipe gallery

Zivania Museum: The Museum hosts exhibits which showcase the production process for zivania, as well as that of a daily rural household in Cyprus.

swipe gallery

Ecclesiastical Museum: Sacred relics preserved from religious monuments are housed here.

Museum of Folk Tradition: This museum houses artefacts from the everyday life of rural residents at the beginning of the 20th century.

Nature trail

There is a path that begins from the chapel of Saint George and follows the river under the stone built bridge. When the water level of the river rises, the trail is inaccessible, but it is a beautiful route for the dry months of the year.

swipe gallery

Bridge

The double-decked bridge is located at the entrance of the village. It was built in the late 19th century, but extensive restoration works were carried out in 1954 due to damages it had suffered. One can easily access the bridge via a dirt road which leads to the riverbed.

swipe gallery

Wineries

Argyrides Winery (25 945999)

Papaioannou Winery (99 608247)

swipe gallery

Food - drink

'Pyrgos' tavern (99 491455)

'Palati' tavern (99 649139)

'Ariadne' tavern (25 944064, 25 942185)

Loukoumades 'O Kalamaras' (99448732, 99034615)

'Ampelos' coffee shop (99 348058)

Traditional coffee shop

swipe gallery

Accommodation

Villa Vasa

Arkella Cottage (25 375355)

To Chorio (99 491455)

Oikia Roti (99 971971)

Villa Mayzus

swipe gallery

 

Contact number: 25 942634