2442

Kolossi Castle

* NOTE: All the tributes of All About Limassol (as the Official Guide of Limassol) aim to ONLY highlight the special aspects of this wonderful city, so that everyone can be aware of the exceptional options they offer. Under no circumstances do they have any promotional or nominal value, and they do not serve the interests of Companies, Municipalities, Organizations or Individuals.

The Medieval Castle of Kolossi in Limassol, also known as Koulas, is one of the most important fortresses from the Frankish period in Cyprus that are preserved to this day.

The existing fortress was built in 1454 by the Commander of the Ioannina Battalion, Louis de Magnac, on top of the ruins of an older fortress from 1210. Magnac's coat-of-arms is visible on the eastern wall of the castle. The typical features of a fortress from that time include the ramparts and gun-loops above the entrance, from where hot oil could be thrown at enemies during incoming attacks.

Kolossi was the seat of a strong military force, the Ioannina Battalion, known as Commanderie, who controlled and exploited the agricultural produce of the wider area, which included some 60 villages.

The Commanderie thus lent its name to the famous Cypriot sweet wine, known to this day as Commandaria. 

East of the castle, there are the remains of a sugar cane production plant. On the northern side, one will find the ruins of a watermill and aqueduct.

 Contact number: 25 934907



Do you love Limassol, too;

Subscribe here to keep discovering anything new, unique and amazing in the city and the countryside.