122

Church of Apostle Philip (Arsos)

* NOTE: All the tributes of All About Limassol (as the Official Guide of Limassol) aim to ONLY highlight the special aspects of this wonderful city, so that everyone can be aware of the exceptional options they offer. Under no circumstances do they have any promotional or nominal value, and they do not serve the interests of Companies, Municipalities, Organizations or Individuals.

The church of Apostle Philip in Arsos was built in the 13th century. In 1735, Russian traveler and monk, Vasily Barsky, made mention of an old, stone-built church, the altar of which housed the relics of the Saint.

The old church is believed to have been destroyed in the latter half of the 19th century. The temple as it stands today was built at the start of the 20th century. In 1948, the gyneconite was added, and in 1988, repairs were made following an earthquake. The unique décor of the belfry, the doors, and the windows, the stone-built domes and arches, and the old iconostasis are particularly impressive elements.

The icon of Apostle Philip is a 13th century artwork and it is surrounded by 18 scenes depicting his life. The saint’s Holy Relic, which was considered to be repellant to locusts, was transferred to the Monastery of Omodos for greater security. The Patron Saint of the church celebrates on 14th November.

Next to the church stands the chapel of Saint Mariamni, the sister of Apostle Philip. It is considered to be part of the 13th century construction.

Source: Arsos Community Council



Do you love Limassol, too;

Subscribe here to keep discovering anything new, unique and amazing in the city and the countryside.