A Limassol monastery that turned into a hotel for 40 years in order to survive!

* NOTE: All the tributes of All About Limassol (as the Official Guide of Limassol) aim to ONLY highlight the special advantages of this wonderful city, so that everyone can be aware of the unique Experiences it offers. Under no circumstances do they have any promotional or nominal value, nor do they serve the interests of Companies, Municipalities, Organizations or Individuals.

Social Life

From 1915 till around the start of the 1950s, for about 4 decades, this ancient monastery dating back to the 11th – 12th century located in the Limassol mountain region had been transformed into a holiday resort. This transformation was what saved the Monastery of Timios Prodromos in Mesa Potamos from abandonment.

The transformation of the monastery begun in 1914, when the Bishop of Kiti, Meletios Metaxakis, set the foundation stone for the construction of the monastery guest house. This decision was made in order to save the monastery from desolation, after it was left without monks for a very long time. This guest house ended up being a beloved destination for those seeking a relaxing refuge within this idyllic environment.

swipe gallery

The guest house was built by Metaxakis with his personal expenses. His successor, Nikodemos Mylonas, also used it as a hotel accommodation unit. The dense forest of the area, the abundance of water, and the serenity of the environment made the guest house a beloved holiday destination for people both in Cyprus and abroad.

When the monastery stopped working as a hotel, it was abandoned once more for around 50 years, but the guest house was utilized again in 2002, and has been in use to this day. 


* NOTE: The tributes of the Project "History of Limassol" present information that has emerged from historical research thus far. Any new data is embedded into the tributes, once it has been confirmed.