The story behind Limassolians' beloved 'Yellow House!'

* NOTE: All the tributes of All About Limassol (as the Official Guide of Limassol) aim to ONLY highlight the special advantages of this wonderful city, so that everyone can be aware of the unique Experiences it offers. Under no circumstances do they have any promotional or nominal value, nor do they serve the interests of Companies, Municipalities, Organizations or Individuals.

One of the most historic places in Limassol is the triangular building located just across from the Ayia Napa church. Since the start of the 20th century, this building has been a landmark, albeit under various different names over the years, from Schiza Residence, to the Water Supply building, to Yellow House.

Its unique shape is what initially piques the interest. Upon closer look, one can notice its elegant architectural details. Architect Zacharias Vondas designed the building in the style of European eclecticism, a popular trend of the era, featuring elements of French baroque in the ornamental pediments above the circular skylight on the eastern side.

The building was constructed in 1917, with shops on the ground floor and a residence on the first floor. It was used as a residence until 1960, when the Limassol Water Board set up shop there, and remained until 1981. Though many names have been bestowed upon the shops of the ground floor, the one that remains most vivid in peoples’ memories is that of the Yellow House Café. This was a space that was popular with young people during the ‘60s and beyond, offering refreshments and pastries, as well as the first of their kind hamburgers and hot dogs.

swipe gallery

The interior of the building is still quite impressive today.

Sources: 'Anadromi mnimis' by Tasos Andreou, Limassol Historical Archives, Lemesou Mnimes

* NOTE: The tributes of the Project "History of Limassol" present information that has emerged from historical research thus far. Any new data is embedded into the tributes, once it has been confirmed.