388

The railway in Asgata

* NOTE: All the tributes of All About Limassol (as the Official Guide of Limassol) aim to ONLY highlight the special aspects of this wonderful city, so that everyone can be aware of the exceptional options they offer. Under no circumstances do they have any promotional or nominal value, and they do not serve the interests of Companies, Municipalities, Organizations or Individuals.

During the British rule, railways had a significant role in many parts of Cyprus, though almost nothing remains on the island which is reminiscent of that time. A beautiful village on the eastern edge of Limassol, however, still preserves one of the last monuments of that time. On the main road of Asgata, one now finds an old railway with its heavy, industrial wagons, remnants of a mine that once made the area wealthy.

The mine, located on the border of the Limassol - Larnaca province, known as the Kalavassos Mine, has been operating since antiquity, according to ancient galleries excavated there. Its operation continued during the Roman era on the island, following which its mining was then abandoned for centuries. Colonialism revived interest around the mine. In 1925 an English company conducted surveys throughout the area and three years later, in 1928, decided to reopen it. In 1935 or 1936, they sold the right to exploit the mine’s deposits to a Greek company.

The mine continued to operate even until 1976. Thanks to this activity, from 1939 to 1965, Asgata flourished in many areas and tripled in population. Today, though it is a relatively small village, the picturesque scenery, natural surroundings and beautiful tavernas constitute a good reason for visitors who want to combine their stroll with an introduction to the village's past, since they will have the opportunity to take a closer look at the railway and its wagons.

Information: Asgata Community Council



Do you love Limassol, too;

Subscribe here to keep discovering anything new, unique and amazing in the city and the countryside.