A CITY FULL OF FEELINGS A CITY FULL OF FEELINGS







Under the auspices of:
evel limassol

Agios Arsenios church (Kyperounta)

For decades, the prosperous community of Kyperounta village had been requesting a larger church in the village. The result was the creation of this majestic temple, the construction of which began in March 2002, and is now a unique architectural creation for Cyprus.

The temple is a recreation of an ancient type of church, the design of which was typical for temples constructed in the 5th and 6th century in Cyprus. Ruins of such constructions can still found in ancient cities, such as Salamis, Amathus, Akrotiti and others. Spread across an area of 1200 square meters are 730 seats for visitors. The temple is divided into 3 areas by 124 pillars with Corinthian style tops, which, in combination with the carved pilasters, create an imposing atmosphere in the room.

Beyond the church’s architectural style, many of its decorative elements also resemble other ancient styles, such as the carved images and patterns. The marble floor of the church is a true gem, boasting colors of white, green and red and 7 consecutive rhombuses which symbolize the 7 days of the Creation, and an eighth rhombus symbolizing the Day of the Apocalypse. The high ceiling (22 meters high), featuring elaborate, wooden décor, is both awe inspiring and offers great acoustics.

Relevant

The impressive tower of the belfry, standing at 34 meters high from ground to top, appears to be reaching skywards, especially as the church itself is located on a hill. There are 135 steps that lead to the top where 5 bells are located, and where visitors can enjoy panoramic views of the hills of Madatri and Papoutsa, as well as the villages nestled in between them.

Video: Cyprus Aerial Photography

The chapels
On the east side of the 4th and 5th aisles of the temple, there are 2 embedded chapels, which are used for smaller ceremonies. The northern chapel is dedicated to Saint Raphael and Saint Filothei of Athens, built with donations by the families of Stavros and Georgia Nearchou, in memory of their younger son Andreas, and the family of Father Ioannis and Panayiota Ioannou, in honor of their protector, Saint Filothei of Athens. The southern chapel is dedicated to Saint Eftichios, Archbishop of Constantinople. The donation was made by the family of Eftichios Georgiou.

Agios Arsenios
The saint was born in 1840 and became a monk at the age of 26, after a miraculous rescue from certain drowning. He arrived as a refuge to Piraeus, where he eventually died. His relics was exhumed in October 1958 by Saint Paisios and were brought to Kyperounta by the Bishop of Limassol Athanasios in 2001.

Source: Senior Ioannis K. Ioannou  

swipe gallery



Do you love Limassol, too;