A CITY FULL OF FEELINGS A CITY FULL OF FEELINGS


The village that disappeared and created again due to a Monastery!

* NOTE: All the tributes of All About Limassol (as the Official Guide of Limassol) aim to ONLY highlight the special aspects of this wonderful city, so that everyone can be aware of the exceptional options they offer. Under no circumstances do they have any promotional or nominal value, and they do not serve the interests of Companies, Municipalities, Organizations or Individuals.

Agros, a village in Limassol countryside, is a beautiful area with a rich heritage and a unique history that is best known for its traditional delicacies and the roses’ cultivation rather than the legend that accompanies it. Nevertheless, although this story remains almost unknown, Agros attributes its creation and its name to it.

During the Ottoman domination in 1692 AD, the deadly cholera outbreak Cyprus and sowed the death thoughout the island, resulting to the extinction of the 2/3 of the citizens. The residents of the area where Agros is located today, seeking shelter and hope, built their houses around a Monastery of the settlement, the Great Agros Monastery. Over time the number of houses increased, the settlement grew and the formation of a new village started to gradually take place. This is how Agros village was founded.

Therefore, the village took its name from the Great Agros Monastery, which was built in the place where the Church of Panayia Eleousa is located today. According to the tradition, 40 monks from Asia Minor leaving the Monastery of their homeland came to Cyprus, bringing with them a holy image of Panayia. The monks settled in the area where Agros village is located today and built a new Monastery. The new commune was named after the Monastery where the monks used to live initially and, this way, the Great Agros Monastery was founded in Cyprus.

The Great Agros Monastery was in operation until 1830 AD, while in 1894 AD was demolished. On the remains of the monastery the Church of Panayia Eleousa was built, which today is one of the most significant temples of the village.

Source of information: Agros Community Council

* NOTE: The tributes of the Project "History of Limassol" present information that has emerged from historical research thus far. Any new data is embedded into the tributes, once it has been confirmed.



Do you love Limassol, too;

Subscribe here to keep discovering anything new, unique and amazing in the city and the countryside.






4728