The 4-arched Bridge of Ypsonas

* NOTE: All the tributes of All About Limassol (as the Official Guide of Limassol) aim to ONLY highlight the special aspects of this wonderful city, so that everyone can be aware of the unique Experiences it offers. Under no circumstances do they have any promotional or nominal value, nor do they serve the interests of Companies, Municipalities, Organizations or Individuals.

At the start of the 20th century, the main road linking Limassol with the mountain villages and Troodos once passed through the village that has grown to become what is known as Ypsonas today. In that passageway, a bridge was created to allow vehicles to cross the road without risking being swept up by the current of the gushing river.

The stone-built, four-arched bridge was restored in 2018 with the aim of becoming part of a new park in Ypsonas, preserving a piece of the area’s history. Today, it continues to act as an outlet for the water that flows from the stream during the winter months when water descends from the hillsides in abundance.

Of course, the amount of water that passes below the bridge today is significantly less than what it was in years past. It is important to note that the bridge, 15 meters wide, had been completely covered by water at least twice in the past, during the winter storms of 1931 and 1969, rendering it impossible for vehicles or pedestrians to cross it.

The result of the particularly rainy winter of 2018 - 2019 was planty of water running once again in the stream that passes right under the bridge.