Holy Monastery of Christ the Advisor - St. George (Sotira)

* NOTE: All the tributes of All About Limassol (as the Official Guide of Limassol) aim to ONLY highlight the special aspects of this wonderful city, so that everyone can be aware of the exceptional options they offer. Under no circumstances do they have any promotional or nominal value, and they do not serve the interests of Companies, Municipalities, Organizations or Individuals.

The monastery of Christ the Advisor, with the chapel of St. George at its entrance, is located in Happy Valley, within the British Sovereign Base Area. It is one of the most ancient Christian monuments on the island, dating back to 625 A.D.

The ruins of several older buildings used by the monastery testify to the antiquity of the institution. These ruins also preserved the legend around St. George the Advisor among the locals over the years. The monastery, which was looted several times during the Arab attacks in Cyprus, was eventually restored approximately 1300 years later, by a couple of believers from Limassol, who discovered its location via a vision.

The small church of St. George was restored by the couples’ own funds, and the two of them stayed there to take care of as a monk and nun, renamed Gerondios and Polychronia. The name of the monastery is related to the nature of Jesus Christ as a “miraculous advisor”, as described by the prophet Isaiah.

On the cliff above the chapel, in a wonderful location with lots of greenery, an impressive, modern monastery was built at the beginning of the 21st century. The monastery was populated by the monks from Machairas monastery, at the request of the Bishop of Limassol, Athanasios. The new monastery, named “Holy Monastery of Christ the Advisor” is forbidden for women, who can follow the ceremonies in the old chapel.

Photos: Michalis Paikousis, Andreas Christoforou

Do you love Limassol, too;

Subscribe here to keep discovering anything new, unique and amazing in the city and the countryside.